RSS

Georgia dress, all finished

16 Feb

Image

The sewalong is not yet finished, there´s one more post coming – the zipper and hemming.

I, of course, couldn´t wait and finished the dress today. I had so much fun putting it all together, it´s such a great dress!

The pattern pieces went together easily and the instructions were pretty straightforward. So it all went faster than I expected.

I used size US 4/ UK 8 from the bodice to the waist and size US 6/ UK 10 for the waist. I was in between those sizes at the hip measurements, so I decided to go for the larger size to ensure that the dress will be comfortable.

I never got why so many sewists are scared of the invisivle zipper. Once I figured out how to put it in, I´ve been able to sew it faster than a regular zipper. I have an “invisible zipper foot”, which was really quite cheap at my local fabric store.

This is how i sew in my zippers: First I finish the raw edges with my overlock, where the stitch is exactly 5mm wide. I use the edge of the stitches as guidence for the zipper tape. I pin it in place with a few needles. Then I set in my invisible zipper foot, set the needle position to the middle and start sewing. The foot rolls the theeth of the zipper out of the way and sews it in with almost no effort. After that I just close the rest of the seam with the regular foot.

I don´t like how the zipper end just hangs loosley in a dress, so I made a litte zipper end cover. I used a 4x6cm scrap of fabric, folded it in half, turned the opening edged 5mm outside. Then I stitched the side seams with 5mm seam allowence. At last you just need to turn it over, stick the zipper end in and close it.

Image

The fabric photographs horribly. It looks more grey than black in the pictures.

ImageI love my musical tights!

Next time, I have to make a SBA, the bust has 2 tiny crinkles that are bothering me, even though you can hardly see them. And I can take the side seams in for about 5mm at each side.

Image

ImageIn the last picture I´m standing in a kind of weird way but it´s the only picture where you can see the pattern properly.

All in all I´m very happy with my very first little black dress! It is very comfortable and perfect for formal or informal occasions! Just throw it on and feel fancy 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2014 in Fancy, Sewalong

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
Heliocentric Bullshit

essays about the superfluous

T H I M B E R L I N A

THE FABRIC FIRST AIDER

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.