RSS

My blue Anna

10 Dec

In october I attended the wedding of a former collegue and very good friend of mine. October is a hard time to figure out what to wear. It can be really cold or still quite warm. It took place in the mountains, the alps, so I expected it to be more on the cold side. So I wanted to wear a floor lenght dress, to keep my legs a little warmer than they would be in a cocktail lenght dress. Since quite a while I was eyeing the Anna dress pattern. The thing that held me back were the kimono sleeves. I´ve never made or worn a garment with kimono sleeves and not looked like a professional boxer in it. As the date of the wedding neared I couldn´t make myself excited about any other pattern. So I decided to risk it.

My next problem was the fabric. I had my eyes set on this gorgeos blue satin. But when I went to the shop to buy it, it felt just wrong. Very plastic-y and frizzing with static. So I asked the shop clerk for another fabric in exactly this colour. We spend about an hour looking. Most of the fabrics had this cheap looking sheen or felt not right. Finally I settled for microsatin, which had this amazing matte back side, which I used for my right side. It was kind of expencive but it was the best choice I had. Vienna sucks regarding to fabric shops.

60030

 

Anna came together beautifully. I chose the floor lenght variation with the V-neckline and the tigh high slit. The pattern pieces fit together perfectly and it was really fun to sew. I stitched down the neck facing and slit down by hand which took a while but was totally worth it.

0220

 

I took the shoulder seam in about 1,5cm and shortened the armhole for 5mm. The bust pleats hung too low, so I lenghtend them about 1cm.

0178

 

The fabric made the dress so floaty, it was a joy to walk and dance in it. I guess it is the most comfortable fancy dress I´ve ever worn/made. And the best thing: I didn´t look like I had hideous broad shoulders in the sleeves! They looked…normal! I´m just realizing how crazy my hair looks. Well, can´t look too fancy 🙂

0184

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 10, 2014 in Fancy

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Heliocentric Bullshit

not essential, but fun things

T H I M B E R L I N A

SHARING MY LOVE OF SEWING & OTHER HANDMADE GOODNESS

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

Anmasi's Welt

Nähen & Stricken

