RSS

Anchor Archer

12 Aug

Today I finished my first Archer. I saw them popping up on blogs for a long time now and always planned on making one. I do wear button-ups a lot, mostly in some kind of plaid. Somehow I never got around actually purchasing the pattern and get started. A few weeks ago I found this wonderful printed chambray and orderd 2 yards. I don´t know exactly what drew me to this fabric, as I´m usually not the nautical kind of a girl.

I made a couple of changes on the pattern though. I cut out size 0 but graded to a size 2 on the hipline. I pretty much ignored the instructions and just went along like I always sew button up shirts. But I did try out this tutorial for putting in a collar. It worked great and I´ll use this method from now on as it´s a lot easier!

IMAG0524

I exchanged the placket for the one in the Tyler shirt because looks much more sophisticated that way. I love the angled corners on the cuff! I cut the fabric for the cuff on the bias, as the button band, the pocket and the back yoke to break up the pattern of the anchors.

IMAG0523

 

I´m very proud how the anchors line up. Usually I´m too lazy to bother with this  and avoid fabric pattern where I have to do it. But it looks really good and looks very tailored 🙂

IMAG0527

I made a smaller pocket as the original one looked ridiculouslly big. I never use these pockets, they´re only for decoration 🙂

IMAG0525

I really like my first Archer, there are more to come in the future. I´m planning on making a flannel plaid one. The summer here in Vienna surely calls for one.

IMAG0526

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 12, 2014 in Everyday clothing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Anchor Archer

  1. Basi

    August 12, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    So supercool! 🙂
    Love from your Cousin in Linz ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
Heliocentric Bullshit

essays about the superfluous

T H I M B E R L I N A

SHARING MY LOVE OF SEWING & OTHER HANDMADE GOODNESS

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

Anmasi's Welt

Nähen & Stricken

