RSS

Summer shirts wardrobe builder

20 Apr

Summer is coming and the last of my store-bought shirts are ripping in various places or fading in colour. So I´m using this as an excuse to make a little basic summer wardrobe.

 

First I used a pattern from Burda (I can´t find the number anymore, I´ll have to dig through the magazines again). It´s originally a dress, so I shortened it at the hem and the sleeves. I used wonderfully soft cotton jersey with 3% lycra. I like it very much because it works as a casual shirt but with a skirt it looks quite fancy. And I love the combination of red and black!

IMG_0197

 

Next is a top layer shirt, to be worn over a spaghetti strap shirt. It´s the pattern from Burda 03/2012 121A.

The wrap around bands are 1,20m long on each side, so there´s plenty of fabric to cover my whole belly and back. The navy jersey is really soft, so the shirt doesn´t feel too tight when wrapped.

IMG_0201

Then I made 4 shirts in two colours: Purple and red. Each colour once with 3/4 sleeves and once with short sleeves. The pattern is Jalie 2105, which I shortened the pattern to hip lenght. I love that the back is lower than the front!

IMG_0200IMG_0198

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last one is the Yellow tail camisole. I made it out of the scraps from the first top, so Yay! black and red again! The pattern is great with detailed instructions and it fit perfectly! It´s great for using up scraps and makes an unusual summer top that you can´t buy anywhere. The hem is still a little wavy, so I´ll use Laurens method and “steam the heck out of it” 🙂

IMG_0196

I made one more shirt, but not for me. I had a kid in my kindergarten (she´s already in school) with whom I´m still in contact with. I had this purple fabric that I didn´t really like for myself. So I made her a shirt with an embroidery of a lacy dress. I have this design on a cardigan I made a few years back. When I first wore it at work (she was about 3 years old) she came up to me with siccors and wanted to cut it out of my back. When I asked her what she´s doing she just answered “I want to cut out your dress, you have to anyway!”. So now, almost 4 years later she´s getting her own 🙂

IMG_0192

And I have a little sneak preview. I went fabric shopping and found this amazing fabric! This calls for a summer dress with as few seams as possible to show of this awesome colours!

IMG_0193

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2014 in Everyday clothing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Heliocentric Bullshit

essays about the superfluous

T H I M B E R L I N A

SHARING MY LOVE OF SEWING & OTHER HANDMADE GOODNESS

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

Anmasi's Welt

Nähen & Stricken

