RSS

More on the wedding dress

12 Apr

Today I was able to get in a lot of wedding dress sewing time.

I had to baste together the underlining with the silk crepe de chine. This was about 21 yards of handbasting. Oh yes, my fingers are still red.

 

IMG_0176

IMG_0173

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sewing together the front and side front skirt pieces I had to carfully leave out everything over the circle marking, so it´ll form a nice point after sewing it to the band.

IMG_0177

 

While sewing up the skirt I went through a pack of needles and every single one of them broke. I used the thinnest once availible, Nr. 60. No matter how I adjusted the tension, All of the broke. So I went one size up and used the Nr.70 needles and they worked perfectly! I was afraid to use the before, because at a test piece they pulled a lot of threads from the silk. Together with the underlining it was okay.

 

I basted in the invisible zipper  with zigzag handstitches before putting in under the machine.

IMG_0179

 

Then I sewed the dress together with the band and the bodice and here we are:

IMG_0180 IMG_0181

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2014 in Fancy, Wedding

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Heliocentric Bullshit

essays about the superfluous

T H I M B E R L I N A

SHARING MY LOVE OF SEWING & OTHER HANDMADE GOODNESS

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

Anmasi's Welt

Nähen & Stricken

